Chicken Pot Pie Recipe

After a long day of work, all I wanted was comfort food. Cut to me driving straight from work to Ralph’s to buy pie crust.

You can take the girl out of Texas, but you can’t take Texas out of the girl.

Chicken pot pie was the first dish I ever cooked on my own at college. I remember calling my mother asking her how to cook the chicken…I feel like I’ve come so far since then!

Here is the recipe I used, courtesy of my mom:

1. Cook two large chicken breasts by lightly boiling them in a covered pot in about 3 cups of water. Cook them for at least 1/2 to 1 hour, until they are tender and well done. Shred the chicken into small pieces and make sure to remove all of the bones.

2. Separate the crusts, one crust from each unit will stay in the pie plate (Buy two packages of pie crust in the pie plate. Each package usually has two crusts, and these are usually found in the upright freezers at the grocery store.). Carefully, poke holes in the two crusts, but be careful not to puncture the foil pie plate. Poke holes with the fork on the sides and on the bottom. These holes let the air out when the crusts cook. If you don’t poke the holes, the crust will bubble and break. Put these empty pie crust shells in the oven at about 350 degrees until they are lightly toast brown.

3. While they are in the oven, remove the other pie crusts from the shells and lay them flat somewhere, you might want to put flour under them so they do no stick to whatever you put them on.

4. In a bowl mix:
2 cans of Cream Of Chicken Soup
2 boxes or one bag of mixed veggies , ie..corn, peas, green beans
The shredded chicken breasts
salt and pepper

5. Add this mixture to the cooked pie shells.

6. Put the uncooked pie shell on top of the mixture in the pie plate and try to seal around the rim. Poke holes in the top of the pie crusts.

7. Put the pies in the oven at 350 or 425 degrees for about 45 minutes. The top will be toasty brown.

 

Leave a comment