The Paleo Diet + Homemade (Healthy-ish) Onion Ring Recipe

I hate diets. They just don’t work. However, my roommate introduced me to the Paleo Diet, which I have been following 80 percent of the time for the past three weeks. I have seen a noticeable difference in the way I look and feel.

I’m no expert on this diet – but to sum it up, it’s about eating all the things humans ate when we were hunter-gatherers. This means no noodles, bread, crackers, etc. Dairy products are also discouraged in favor of alternatives such as coconut milk and almond milk. It involves a lifestyle change, but after a while, you will stop craving the foods you used to want.

My kitchen passion is baking. You can imagine my utter horror when I found out I was going to be cutting back (or finding alternatives to) butter, flour and sugar. But honestly, it’s so easy! You just have to adjust to the flavor change – things will taste more grainy and subtly sweet. After a while, you get used to it and the flavors come out even more. I use almond meal and ground flaxseed instead of flour and honey and almond butter instead of sugar and butter.

I don’t hesitate to indulge every once in a while. I went to an actors showcase today and of course there was a dessert table – so I had a brownie, no big deal! It’s just about avoiding over-indulgence.

If you’re interested in what paleo dishes taste like, try this quick paleo onion ring recipe:

1. Heat coconut oil in a pan.

2. Cut an onion and separate the rings.

3. Gather two bowls. In one bowl, crack an egg and beat it. In the other bowl, pour almond meal. (I recommend the almond meal from Trader Joe’s)

4. Dip a ring in the egg, covering it on all sides.

5. Dip the ring in the almond meal, covering it on all sides.

6. Place the onion in the pan, flipping over occasionally until golden brown. Repeat.

One thought on “The Paleo Diet + Homemade (Healthy-ish) Onion Ring Recipe

  1. Paleo diets are based on a simple premise—if the cavemen didn’t eat it, you shouldn’t either. So long to refined sugar, dairy, legumes, and grains (this is pre-agricultural revolution); hello to meat, fish, poultry, fruits, and veggies. What you eat and how much depend on your goals or the specific program you’re on, if you choose to follow one.’

    Remember to look out for this useful blog page
    <,http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/magnesium-for-migraines/

Leave a Reply

